• Sep,25, 2022

Guide to Yoga: Types of Yoga

Guide to Yoga: Types of Yoga

There are a number of different types of yoga, each with its own benefits and challenges. In this article, we will explore the various types of yoga.

What is Yoga? 


Yoga is a combination of physical exercise, mental focus, and breathing techniques that originated in India over 5,000 years ago. It was designed to prepare one for the rigors of life by cleansing both body and mind from negative thoughts or energies. 

Common Types of Yoga 


Hatha Yoga 

This type of yoga is the most commonly practiced in today's world. Hatha yoga focuses primarily on breath control, physical poses (asanas), and meditation. It is a very popular form of yoga because it does not require you to be super flexible or strong to benefit from its many stress-reducing advantages. 


Vinyasa Yoga 

This type of yoga focuses on breathing and physical movement together. It is a very fast-paced style that requires the student to flow through various poses quickly, holding each one for just seconds or minutes at most. 

Vinyasa yoga does not typically focus as much on mental aspects such as meditation but rather uses moving forward from pose to pose as a form of meditation. 


Iyengar Yoga 

This type of yoga is all about precision and alignment in the poses. It is often recommended for beginners because it focuses on proper form and posture, helping to prevent injuries. Iyengar yoga typically lasts anywhere from 60-90 minutes, making it one of the longer types of yoga. 


Bikram Yoga 

This type of yoga is practiced in a room heated to 105 degrees Fahrenheit with 40% humidity. Bikram yoga is designed to work every muscle, joint, and organ in the body and typically lasts 90 minutes. It is not recommended for beginners due to its high-intensity level. 


Ashtanga Yoga 

This type of yoga is a fast-paced practice that focuses on breath and physical movement together. It's very challenging but also has the advantage of increasing flexibility quickly due to its strict form and constant repetition. Ashtanga yoga usually lasts about 90 minutes. 


Power Yoga 

This type of yoga is a more vigorous form of Vinyasa yoga. It is designed to increase strength and flexibility, making it a good choice for those who are already-fit. Power yoga typically lasts 60 minutes. 


Kundalini Yoga 

Kundalini yoga is a very spiritual form of yoga that focuses on chakras and energy. Its focus is more about connecting with the self rather than physical movement or breathing techniques. Kundalini yoga typically lasts 90 minutes but can last longer depending upon your individual preferences. 


Sivananda Yoga 

This type of yoga focuses on the five basic principles that were established by its founder Swami Sivananda: proper exercise, proper breathing technique, relaxation, a vegetarian diet rich in fresh fruits and vegetables, and meditation. 

Although it doesn't require you to be incredibly flexible or strong to practice this type of yoga successfully, many people have found they become more flexible and strong with time. 


There are more types of yoga than what is listed here, but these are the most common. Try yoga today for a better sense of mental and physical well-being. 

Sarah Williams

Hot Yoga Instructor